COOKIE NOTICEWe use our own and third-party cookies for internal and analytical purposes only. These cookies permit us to remember, manage and understand how users navigate on our website so we can offer a service based on this information. Some of them belong to third parties which are located in countries whose legislation does not guarantee an adequate level of data protection. Click here for more information about our cookie policy. You can accept all cookies by clicking the "Accept" button or configure or refuse the use of cookies by clicking "Settings".

Smoke and Mirrors, Julieta, May God Forgive Us, The Fury of a Patient Man and A Monster Calls will fight it out for the Goya for Best Film

Foto premios Goya

A Monster Calls (Sales: Lionsgate), by J.A. Bayona, with 12 nominations, is the favourite at the Goya Awards, where each year the Spanish Academy of Film Arts and Sciences celebrates the quality of Spanish cinema. Among the most nominated films in this edition we can also find Smoke and Mirrors (Sales: Film Factory Ent.) and The Fury of a Patient Man (Sales: Film Factory Ent.), each with 11 nominations, and 1898.Our Last Men in the Philippines (Sales: Film Factory Ent.) with 9 nominations. These awards will be held on 4 February.

Smoke and Mirrors, by Alberto Rodríguez;  Julieta (Sales: Filmnation), by Pedro Almodóvar; May God Forgive Us (Sales: Latido Films), by Rodrigo Sorogoyen; The Fury of a Patient Man, by Raúl Arévalo; and A Monster Calls, by J. A. Bayona, will fight it out for the Goya for Best Film. 
Four directors will compete for the Best Director award, Alberto Rodríguez, for Smoke and Mirrors; Pedro Almodóvar, for Julieta; Rodrigo Sorogoyen, for May God Forgive Us, and J.A. Bayona, for A Monster Calls.

The Goya for Best Leading Actress will be between Emma Suárez (Julieta), Carmen Machi (The Open Door), Penélope Cruz (The Queen of Spain) and Bárbara Lennie (María y los Demás), while in the Best Leading Actor category the nominees are Eduard Fernández (Smoke and Mirrors), Roberto Álamo (May God Forgive Us), Antonio de la Torre (The Fury of a Patient Man) and Luis Callejo (The Fury of a Patient Man).